Founder's Award Selection for 2010 has been made.

Nominations Requested, Please read through this article and forward nominations to Bill Beyer

If anyone would like to nominate someone, email Bill Beyer via email or call him at 906-370-0172, or tell him in person. Nominations to the national office must be on form #24-137. Lodge level nominations can be submitted in any written form but should include the same information as the national form.

Below is a description and history of the award. Our lodge is allowed to award 2 Founder's Awards each year. This award is to be given to persons going above and beyond the call of duty in their service to the Order of the Arrow. The only higher award given in the OA is the Distinguished Service Award, given by the National Office to arrowmen, for service to the section, region, and national levels of the OA.

Please submit the name of the person you are nominating along with the reasons you feel they deserve this prestigious award.

Introduced at the 1981 National Order of the Arrow Conference, the Founder's Award was created to honor and recognize those Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to their lodge. The award is reserved for an Arrowmen who demonstrates to fellow Arrowmen that he or she memorializes in his or her everyday life the spirit of achievement as described by founder E. Urner Goodman and co-founder Carroll A. Edson.

The Award is a handsome bronze medallion bearing the likenesses of E. Urner Goodman and co-founder Carroll A. Edson, with wooden base and brass plate suitable for engraving. Also available is a special Founder's Award arrow ribbon, with a gold colored arrow suspended from a red ribbon.

Lodges may petition the national Order of the Arrow Committee to present up to four awards annually, based on lodge membership. If the lodge presents more than one award, one must be to a youth under the age of 21. Nominations must be made on form No. 24-137.

Please feel free to submit nominations at any time during the year, awards will be presented at the winter banquet.


2010 Founders Awards were presented at the Winter Banquet on January 8, 2011


2010 recipients are Josh Ensign and Ted Peterson. Congratulations to you both.